Fear and common sense

August 5, 2014. The send off day to the Strive for Excellence draws near. As I find myself going over the route and splitting up 418(ish) miles into three days, I realize the only thing stopping me is fear and common sense.

I think to myself, “why did I propose to go to Bar Harbor and back?” But I’m not about to back down. Instead I should be asking myself things like, “Why didn’t I buy a more comfortable saddle? What would people think if I put baseball cards in my spokes? What happened to my baseball cards?”

Anyway. I (most of the time) enjoy a challenge. I enjoy stretching the limits, because what doesn’t kill us, will ultimately make us stronger… right?

From now until the very second I set off on the adventure, I’ll be asking for your support. I’m doing this all to raise money for Living Waters Christian School in Buxton. This is a school that I teach High School Bible at, but also have two boys attending. I believe in this school. I believe in it enough to fight for it. It costs a lot of money to keep a private school with a flex tuition open. Therefore, I strive.

At LWCS, we’re always challenging students to strive for excellence in everything you do. Strive, not to be better than anyone else, but strive to be the best you can be. Put whatever your skill or whatever your calling is out there and strive for excellence.

To find out more about the Strive 2014, please visit Facebook.com/gostrive2014

Or to sponsor me online, please visit http://livingwaters.corecommerce.com/Strive-for-Excellence-Pledges/

Thanks!
-Pete20140805-165408-60848744.jpg

p.s. I’ll be posting the link to days 1-3 routes tomorrow on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

