Let it grow, let it grow!

Let’s all take a moment to sigh a sigh of relief that it appears that we are finally heading into spring… (ahhhh). There, didn’t that feel good?

I’m ready for regrowth. I’m ready to see plants and leaves return to the atmosphere around us. I’m ready to see revival of what this harsh winter destroyed. I’m ready to start putting (locally made) maple syrup on everything. I’m just ready for a much needed change.

The thing about last winter that was so hard for me was the waiting. My Lord, the waiting will make or break us. There’s a lost art in the waiting though. There’s a peace knowing that good things come to those who wait. And I don’t believe that the word “wait” is a passive word, but I believe that we should maintain and grow through the waiting. Maybe the word “wait” wasn’t the right one, but as we anticipate a season in our lives coming to an end, there’s always things to prepare for.

One of our modern-day problems is that it’s nearly impossible to convince a generation that is so used to getting instant results that building a noble character takes time and perseverance. I like to think about the tulips in my yard (no, I’m not a flower guy). I see them come back every spring and summer. They don’t grow and blossom instantly, but it takes time for them to become spectacular and full of vibrant, colorful life.

Happy Earth Day from Maine

An Earth Day pic of the growing tulips.

I’m always challenging my Bible class students to read the bible and savor every word. I just don’t teach the Bible because I need something good to do every morning during the school year, or (even contrary to popular belief) to hear myself talk, but I teach it because I’m passionate about it and I know that there is life and vitality in the inspired Word of God. There’s also key principals on how we can grow into the people with the specific purposes that God has for each one of us.

For something to grow, it takes much needed time and a lot of time some cultivation. I’ve heard that the walnut tree can take more than 7 years to produce fruit. There’s much growth that needs to happen for something to get to it’s full potential. There’s that waiting period again.

The hardest thing to do is to not loose heart during those hard “waiting” seasons. The tendency is to try to rush things instead of letting the time and perseverance do it’s thing in your life, so you also will bear good fruit. Perseverance produces steadfastness which leads to a noble character.

Take Galatians 6:9 for example: And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

Leave a Reply

